Home >>


Take a minute to share your thoughts about Albemarle County Boards and Commissions

Board/Commission Name Economic Development Authority 
Introduction/Overview/Duties An ordinance creating the Industrial Development Authority was adopted on May 12, 1976. See State Code Sections 15.2-4900 through 15.2-4908 for enabling legislation. The authority created by the Albemarle Board of County Supervisors acquires, owns, leases and disposes of properties and makes loans and issues bonds to promote industry and development by inducing manufacturing, industrial, governmental, nonprofit and commercial enterprises and institutions of higher education to locate in or remain in the County and to further the use of its agricultural products and natural resources. 
Length of Term Four years. 
Frequency/Times for Meetings Third Tuesday of every month. 
Membership Members are not paid for their service. No director shall be an employee of the County. 
Qualifications It is helpful, but not essential, if members have some working knowledge of municipal finance or the financial markets in general. Some basic understanding of taxation is also helpful. 
County Members/Term Expiration Elton J. Oliver - Scottsville - Term Expires 01/19/2020
Donald Long - At-large - Term Expires 01/19/2019
George W. Ray, Jr.- Rio - Term Expires 01/19/2022
James Atkinson - Samuel Miller - Term Expires 01/19/2020
W. Rod Gentry - Rivanna -Term Expires 01/19/2022
David Mellen - White Hall - Term Expires 01/19/2021
David Shreve - Jack Jouett - Term Expires 01/19/2019
James V. Bowling,IV, Attorney 
Web site for more information ia2010.albemarle.org/EconDev/eda/default.aspx 

Return to Boards & Commissions Page

Return to Board of Supervisors Page