Voter Registration & Elections  |  Electoral Board

    The Albemarle County Electoral Board is a three-member body established in accordance with Article II, Section 8 of the Constitution of Virginia and Section 24.2-106 of the Code of Virginia.  The Electoral Board is responsible for the appointment of the General Registrar and for the adminstration of all federal, state, and local elections held within the locality.  The Board is composed of two members representing the political party of the current Virginia Governor and one member of the party receiving the second-highest number of votes for that office.

As of March 10, 2015, the Albemarle County Electoral Board members are:

Peter Wurzer - Chairman

William C. Love, Jr. - Vice Chairman

James M. Heilman - Secretary

They may be contacted through their assistant at the Electoral Board Office at 434-296-5863.  The fax number is 434-972-4143.

The next meetings will take place March 7, 2018  and March 14, 2018

2018 Electoral Board Minutes

2017 Electoral Board Minutes

2016 Electoral Board Minutes 

The Electoral Board office is located in Room 130 at the McIntire Road County Office Building, located at 401 McIntire Road, Charlottesville VA 22902. This is a satellite office and the Elections Manager who staffs this location is sometimes in the field or at the main Voter Registration office at the 5th Street County Office Building. 

Please note that  all in-person absentee voting takes place at the Voter Registration office located at
1600 5th Street, Charlottesville, VA 22902.  The phone number is 434-972-4173 and the
office hours are 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday.

Contact the Department
Voter Registration and Elections
Albemarle County Office Building
1600 5th Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902

Mailing Address:
PMB 404
536 Pantops Center
Charlottesville, VA 22911
FAX: 434-972-4178
Email the Department