ORDINANCE NO. 07-9(2)
AN ORDINANCE TO AMEND CHAPTER 9, MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC, ARTICLE IV, COUNTY VEHICLE LICENSES, OF THE CODE OF THE COUNTY OF ALBEMARLE, VIRGINIA
BE IT ORDAINED By the Board of Supervisors of the County of Albemarle, Virginia, that Chapter 9, Motor Vehicles and Traffic, Article IV, County Vehicle Licenses, is hereby amended and reordained as follows:
Sec. 9-404 License tax – Amounts
CHAPTER 9. MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC
ARTICLE IV. COUNTY VEHICLE LICENSES
Sec. 9-404 License tax--Amounts.
A. On all motor vehicles, except as
otherwise specifically provided in this article, there shall be an annual
license tax based on gross vehicle weight. The license tax shall be
twenty-five dollars ($25.00) thirty-eight dollars and fifty cents
($38.50) for vehicles with gross vehicle weights of four thousand (4,000)
pounds or less and thirty dollars ($30.00) forty-three dollars and
fifty cents ($43.50) for gross weights in excess of four thousand (4,000)
pounds. Gross maximum loaded weight shall be substituted for gross vehicle
weight for motor vehicles not designed and used primarily for the transportation
B. On every motorcycle there shall be
an annual license tax of
twenty dollars ($20.00) twenty-six dollars
and fifty cents ($26.50).
C. On every trailer or semitrailer not designed and used for transportation of passengers, there shall be an annual license tax as follows:
Gross Weight Annual Tax
0 - 1,500 lbs.
$ 9.50 $19.50
1,501 lbs. and above
D. In the case of a combination of a tractor-trailer or semitrailer, each vehicle constituting a part of such combination shall be taxed as a separate vehicle.
E. On every motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer upon which well-drilling machinery is attached or other "specialized mobile equipment" as defined in Virginia Code § 46.2-700(B), there shall be an annual license tax of sixteen dollars and fifty cents ($16.50).
F. Except as provided in section 9-403(B), the license tax prescribed herein shall be due and payable on or before June 5 of each year, and shall be included and separately stated on the personal property tax bill.
(Code 1967, § 12-93; 1-18-73; 6-7-89; Code 1988, § 12-25; Ord. 98-A(1), 8-5-98; Ord. 99-9(1), 11-10-99; Ord. 02-9(1), 11-6-02; Ord. 05-9(2), 12-7-05, effective 1-1-06)
State law reference--Va. Code § 46.2-694(A), 46.2-694.1, 46.2-752, 46.2-1168.
This ordinance shall be effective on and after January 1, 2008.
Return to exec summary