Email Sign-Up
Sign up for A-Mail to receive news and updates.
Click here >>



Farm Loans Available As Albemarle County Designated Primary Natural Disaster Area

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has named Albemarle County as a primary natural disaster area due to losses caused by excessive rain, hail, high winds and lightning associated with this summer’s derecho. Albemarle County, along with Nelson and Page Counties, were designated natural disaster areas on October 10, 2012. Fourteen counties and the City of Charlottesville also qualify for natural disaster assistance because they are contiguous to the disaster area.

All qualified farm operators in the designated areas are eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Additional programs available to assist farmers and ranchers include the Emergency Conservation Program, Federal Crop Insurance, and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact the USDA Service Center servicing Albemarle County for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs:

Louisa Service Center
39 Industrial Drive, Suite 1
Louisa, VA 23093
540-967-2557 fax

Additional information is also available online at

Return to Newsroom

Featured Events
Planning Commission Meeting
12/17/2019, 6:00 PM
Lane Auditorium (COB)
Board of Supervisors Regular Meeting
1/8/2020, 1:00 PM
Lane Auditorium (COB)

View All >>
Links of Interest