Finance Home  |  Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
brown-horizontal-line

 PLEASE SELECT A TOPIC:

GENERAL QUESTIONS

 

Q. Where do I mail my tax payment?

A. Tax payments can be mailed to: County of Albemarle, P.O. Box 7604 Merrifield VA 22116-7604.

 

Q. Who do I make my check payable to?

A. Checks should be made payable to: County of Albemarle

 

Q. What payment methods are available?

A. The County of Albemarle offers a variety of payment methods. Click here to find out.

 

Q. What are your hours?

A. Our office is open Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. except for County holidays and weather-related closures.

 

Q. Where are you located?

A. We are located on the first floor of the Albemarle County Office Building at 401 McIntire Road Room 133 and 135, Charlottesville, Virginia.

 

Q. Can I make partial payments on my personal property or real estate tax bill?

A. Yes, you can make partial payments however all payments received are applied to the oldest outstanding bill and any amount unpaid the day after the due date is subject to additional penalty and interest.

 

Q. Where do I mail Virginia income tax returns and payments?

A. Virginia income tax returns with payments or expecting refunds should be mailed to:

 

Director of Finance

P.O. Box 760

Richmond, VA 23218-0760

 

back to top


VEHICLE RELATED QUESTIONS

 

Q. I’m new to the County. Do I need to get a County decal for my vehicle?

A. No, the County no longer requires a County decal. You should however make sure that you register your vehicle and record your address change with the Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles within 30 days of your move. Be specific when telling DMV when you moved into Albemarle County and ensure that your registration correctly states Albemarle County.

 

Q. What is the “License Tax” on my personal property tax statement?

A. The vehicle license tax is levied on all motor vehicles, trailers, motorcycles, and campers that are licensed to operating upon the street or highway. The license tax is billed as a separate item on the Personal Property Tax bill. It took the place of the county license (decal) fee. Click here for a list of current license tax amounts.

 

Q. What do I need to do if I have moved into Albemarle County from another Virginia locality?

A. Update your mailing address and garage jurisdiction with the Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles. This information will be provided to our office by DMV. Note that some localities in Virginia are non-prorating which means that you would continue to pay the locality you moved from through the end of the calendar year in which you moved. Your personal property would become taxable in Albemarle County as of January 1st of the following year. If you move from a non-prorating locality and you acquire property after your move to Albemarle County, that property would be taxable in Albemarle County as of the purchase date. The non-prorating locality will not tax you for that item because you did not own it as of January 1. If you move from a prorating locality, taxation will begin from the date you move to Albemarle County.

 

Q. What do I need to do if I have moved into Albemarle County from another state?

A. You should first register and title your vehicle with the Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles within 30 days of your move. Make sure that the DMV properly records your vehicle as being garaged in Albemarle County. We will receive your vehicle information from the DMV.

 

Q. What do I need to do when I have moved from Albemarle County to another Virginia locality?

A. Update your mailing address and garage jurisdiction with the Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles. This information will be provided to our office by the DMV. Note that some localities in Virginia are non-prorating and will not begin to tax your vehicle until January 1st of the subsequent year you moved. In that case, your personal property would remain taxable in Albemarle County through December 31st of the year in which you moved. If you move to a non-prorating locality and you acquire property after your move to that locality, that property would be taxable in Albemarle County through December 31st as well.

 

Q. I have moved to another state. How do I update my records with your office regarding personal property taxes for my vehicle?

A. After you have registered/titled your vehicle in your new state, provide our office a copy of your new state title or registration. If you have sold, or traded your vehicle after your move, without registering or titling your vehicle in your new state, provide a copy of the bill of sale that shows the Vehicle Identification Number and the date the transaction took place. This should be done within the first 30 days of your move. Taxation in Albemarle County will cease once you have provided a copy of your new registration or bill of sale to our office.

 

This information may be sent via:

Fax: (434) 243-7906

Email: AlbemarleCountyFinance@albemarle.org

Mail: County of Albemarle, Revenue Administration, 401 McIntire Road room 133, Charlottesville, VA 22902

 

Q. What do I do if I trade or sell a vehicle?

A. Virginia State law requires that you notify the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as soon as possible when you sell or trade a vehicle. Personal property tax assessments and potential refunds will be based on when the sale date was updated with DMV. DO NOT rely on the purchaser or the dealer to timely notify DMV.

 

Q. What do I do when a vehicle has been junked?

A. Surrender the title to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if you have it. If you no longer have the title, notify DMV and tell them that the vehicle has been junked. Contact the County after you have done so; refunds will be based on when the salvage date is recorded with DMV.

 

Q. I am a full-time college student (attending an institution of higher learning) living in Albemarle County. In what locality should my vehicle(s) be taxed?

A. Vehicles normally garaged in Albemarle County being used by a full-time student attending an institution of higher learning may be taxed in the student’s home domicile. If requested by the locality, the owner should provide proof that the vehicle personal property taxes have been paid to the home locality.

 

Q. May I submit a deposit against future Personal Property taxes?

A. While we do accept tax deposits, the County cannot take any steps before the end of year to establish your next year’s personal property tax liability or offer any advice on the amount to be deposited on any specific account. Your next year’s tax liability can be determined only after the assessed value of your personal property is established, usually April of the year for which the taxes are due. We do not offer any advice, guidance, or opinion on whether or not your deposits will be deductible on your federal tax returns. Taxpayers are encouraged to review IRS advisories regarding the deductibility of prepaid property taxes or consult an income tax professional.

 

Q. What is the Personal Property Tax Relief (PPTR)?

A. The Personal Property Tax Relief Act of 1998 provides tax relief on the first $20,000 of assessed value of qualifying motor vehicles including passenger cars, motorcycles, and pickup or panel trucks having a registered gross weight of up to 10,000 pounds. To qualify, a vehicle must: (1.) Be

owned by an individual or leased by an individual under a contract requiring the individual to pay the personal property tax, (2.) Be used less than 50% for business purposes, AND (3.) Have plate type of “passenger”

with the DMV. Motor homes, boats, trailers, mopeds, all-terrain vehicles, and farm use vehicles do not qualify for tax relief.

 

back to top


 

REAL ESTATE-RELATED QUESTIONS

 

Q. What if I receive a Real Estate Tax bill for a property I have sold?

A. If you have sold your property, please notify the Finance Department and send the bill to the new owner or return it to the Finance Department Real Estate Division with the new owner’s name and date of sale.

 

Q. What if I receive a Real Estate Tax bill without my mortgage company information on it or the bill has the incorrect mortgage company listed?

A. You should contact your mortgage company to ensure that they will make payment on your behalf. Please note that it is the responsibility of the taxpayer to ensure that the mortgage information on the account is current and correct and to follow up with the mortgage company to ensure that payment is made in a timely manner.

 

Q. May I submit a deposit against future Real Estate taxes?

A. While we do accept advanced payments, the County cannot take any steps before the end of the year to establish your next year’s real property tax liability or offer any advice on the amount to be advanced on any specific parcel. Your next year’s tax liability on real property can be determined only after the assessed value of your real property is established, the budget for the year is adopted, and the tax rate on real property is set. We do not offer any advice, guidance, or opinion on whether or not your deposits will be deductible on your federal tax returns. Taxpayers are encouraged to review IRS advisories regarding the deductibility of prepaid property taxes or consult an income tax professional.

 

Q. Are there any real estate tax relief programs available?

A. The County offers three tax relief programs for real estate taxes. Click here for more information.

 

back to top


  

BUSINESS TAX QUESTIONS

 

Q. Do I need a license to operate my business in Albemarle County?

A. Yes, if you are or will be conducting business within the County, you will need to register for a Business License and other applicable taxes.

 

Q. What information do I need in order to apply for a business license? 

A. All businesses need a few things to get started. Click here for more information.

 

 Q. What is the cost of a business license? 

A. If your business’ gross receipts are $25,000 or less, the business license fee is waived. If your business’ gross receipts are greater than $25,000 but less than$100,000, the license fee will be $50. If your business’ gross receipts are $100,000 or more, the business license is based on a tax rate, which varies depending on each business category. Click here for a list of current business license tax rates.

 

Q. Why do I still need to complete a business license application if the gross receipts for my business are $25,000 or less?

A. You are advised to file an application every year to document your gross receipts and exemption. In addition, this will allow our computer system to send you a reminder by mail of the license requirement every year in case your gross receipts go over the $25,000 threshold.

 

Q. Is the business license application available online or can be filed online?

A. If you are a new business click here for a business license application, or contact the Revenue Administration Assessments Office at (434) 296-5851, Option #3 to have an application mailed. Currently, a new business cannot establish an account online. New businesses must renew using the full business license application for the first 3 years of business.

 

Existing businesses can file online by clicking the button below.

 

Q. When must I get a business license?

A. New businesses must file a business license application within 30 days of beginning business. Existing businesses must renew their business license by March 1st. Itinerant merchants and peddlers must obtain their license prior to any sales. A 10% late filing penalty will apply if a business license application is filed late.

 

Q. What other taxes must I be prepared to pay for my business?

A. All businesses must pay business tangible personal property return. IF your business offers short term lodging (less than 30 days) you must collect transient occupancy tax. IF your business sells food and beverages, you must collect food and beverage tax.

 

back to top


 DOG LICENSE QUESTIONS
 

Q. How and where can I purchase a dog license?

A. In addition to our office on McIntire Road, dog licenses may be purchased in person at the following locations. Please note that a copy of the current rabies certificate is required to be presented at the time the license is purchased. Click here for a listing of dog license fees.

 

Albemarle-Charlottesville SPCA

3355 Berkmar Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22901

Phone: (434) 973-5959

 

Scottsville Town Administrator Valley Street Scottsville, VA 24590

Phone: (434) 286-2511

 

Dog license may also be purchased by mail by sending a copy of the dog’s current rabies vaccination certificate to Albemarle County, Revenue Administration division, 401 McIntire Road room 135, Charlottesville VA 22902. (Make sure to provide your physical address and contact number).

 

back to top