Community Development  |  Historic Preservation


Historic Preservation Home

Historic Resource Definition

Top Priorities

Committee Projects

National Register of Historic Places

Local Preservation Organizations

“Nydrie,” located near Esmont, was built in 1891 on what had once been part of a Coles estate, where Thomas Jefferson's family sought refuge from General Sir Banastre Tarlton's raid on Monticello during the Revolutionary War. The house at “Nydrie,” one of the largest ever built in Albemarle County, was designed by Richmond architect D. Wiley Anderson to resemble a Scottish castle. Original owner Douglas Forsythe sold the property to the Van Clief family in 1928. The house as pictured was razed in 1978 after having been vacant for many years.  The Van Cliefs sold the property in 2008.

Still standing in excellent condition today is the huge slate-roofed brick barn built at the same time as the mansion at “Nydrie” and in a simplified version of the style of the house itself.

"History, by apprising them of the past,
will enable them to judge of the future."
-- Thomas Jefferson, 1786

The Albemarle County Historic Preservation Committee is charged with protecting the County's historic and cultureal resources. The Committee takes an active role in identifying and documenting structures of importance to the community.

The Historic Preservation Plan was adopted by the Board of Supervisors on September 6, 2000 and was prepared by a Historic Preservation Committee that was appointed by the Board in May 1995. The Historic Preservation Plan is an amendment to the Comprehensive Plan, and provides a framework for public involvement in protecting the community's historic resources. It reviews the County's history, and emphasizes education, financial incentives, and partnerships among all interest groups.


Jared Loewenstein, Chairman Christine S. Devine
Sean Dougherty Emilie Johnson
K. Edward Lay Steven G. Meeks
Ross Stevens Peter Wiley
Jeff Werner Liz Russell
Dennis Dutterer Richard Randolph
Planning Commission liaison
Ann Mallek
Board of Supervisors liaison










Federal & State Rehabilitation Tax Credits
Historic Preservation Plan 
Historic Preservation Tax Credits / Request for Information
Ed Lay's The Architecture of Jefferson Country
The Archaeology of Albemarle County by Jeffrey Hantman 
From the Monacans to Monticello and Beyond:
Prehistoric and Historic Countexts for Albemarle County, Virginia
Historic Architectural Survey of Albemarle County Villages