Community Development  |  Board of Zoning Appeals

The establishment and organization of the Albemarle County Board of Zoning Appeals Adobe Acrobat Document or BZA is established in the Code of Virginia, Section 15.2-2308.  The powers and duties of the BZA are also outlined in the Code of Virginia, Section 15.2-2309.  The BZA consists of 5 members appointed to 5 year terms.  The BZA is scheduled to meet every first Tuesday of each month at 2 pm in Lane Auditorium of the Albemarle County Office Building.  Please note there may be exceptions to these dates/times so please refer to this yearly schedule. Adobe Acrobat Document  Each member is appointed by the Judge of the Circuit Court and receives such compensation as may be authorized by the board of supervisors, from time to time, by ordinance or resolution.  The Board operates under these Rules of ProcedureAdobe Acrobat Document 

Variance Application Adobe Acrobat Document 
Appeal Application  Adobe Acrobat Document
Special Use Permit
 (For Electric message signs, off-site signs, and signs in public rights-of-way) Adobe Acrobat Document
Meeting Agendas, Actions & Minutes


Board of Zoning Appeals Members

John ShepherdChairman

Ed Robb, Vice Chairman

David Bowerman, Secretary

Marcia Joseph

Randolph Rinehart



 Adobe Acrobat DocumentTo view and print the documents you must have Acrobat Reader  Get Acrobat Reader Here